top of page

Building Barbie's House


Classic Bookcase House

This was crafted from an old bookcase with the addition of an attic room. The front facade and attic room are constructed using foam poster board covered with duct tape. The tape keeps the Mod Podge used to adhere the "brick" paper from seeping through. On this house the "brick" is decorative card stock paper found at Joann's craft store.

Windows are replacement pieces from various Mattel Barbie houses. (I like to mix and match.) Using foam board made cutting the window openings very easy, and I just popped them into the holes. I used a box cutter to do this. (I really didn't want to deal with cutting wood) The first floor front facade is another replacement piece from the 2007 Mattel Barbie My House Fold Up Playset Dollhouse. It fit perfectly!

This project was a total experiment of "How do I make this work?" It was full of hits and misses believe me! The little girl it was designed for loves it, and that makes my attempts worthwhile!

Next Post: We'll open it up!


Recent Posts
bottom of page