top of page

Inside Barbie's House: Ground Floor


The ground floor is a combination living area, eating area and kitchen. I forage sites like Etsy and Ebay as well as antique stores for furnishings. Most of the furnishings for this dollhouse were found on Ebay. The lounge sofa is a jewelry box sized perfectly for Barbie. The little side chair blends with the sofa, and the fireplace embers flicker. The chandeliers in the living room and attic room are the popular "locker lights" that work on batteries. (Young girls use these lights to decorate the inside of their school lockers.) I also use stick on battery lights for the house and decorate them. The kitchen is another replacement part from the Mattel 2007 Barbie My House Fold Up Playset Dollhouse. I like to mix and match from various Barbie dollhouse parts!

I used left over wallpaper from my entry hall for the living area, and the kitchen is papered with craft store "brick" card stock paper. Floors are stick on tiles from Lowes. Little additions like the mirror above the couch and the wall shelves to the left of the refrigerator add to the decor. I find these interior decor and furnishings in craft stores, antique stores, and from things around my house. Tiny dollhouse size crown molding and floor baseboards finish off the room! There is an Ebay (Austinnoggles) store that I shop for miniature building materials.


Recent Posts
bottom of page